Asia Rugby Under 18 Boys’ Returns to Johor

Asia Rugby Under 18 Boys’ Returns to Johor

By Shufiyan Shukur ( December 6, 2018
Front row seated (L-R): Mohd Najib bin Johan, Vice President Johor Rugby Union, Mohd Khuzzan Abu Bakar, Johor State’s Executive Chairman of the Youth, Sports and Heritage Committee, Mohd Noorazam Osman, President Johor Rugby Union, Captain (R) Lee Nyuk Fah, Deputy President Johor Rugby Union

Malaysia Rugby and Johor Rugby will host this year’s Asia Rugby Under 18 (Boys) tournament to be held at the Educity Stadium on 8th and 9th December 2018.

The Johor 7s @Iskandar Puteri 2018 will also be taking place with a women’s category in a two-day rugby extravaganza to mark the closing of 2018.

Teams from Malaysia, Hong Kong, China, Qatar, South Korea, Laos and Uzbekistan will vie for the title of Asia Rugby Under-18 (Boys) Champions 2018.

“We feel Hong Kong will be a strong contender to take home the championship,” said Mohd Noorazam Osman, President of the Johor Rugby Union at the sponsorship handing over ceremony and press conference which was also attended by Mohd Khuzzan Abu Bakar, Johor State’s Executive Chairman of the Youth, Sports and Heritage Committee and Iskandar Investment Berhad’s President and CEO Datuk Ir Khairil Anwar Ahmad.

“We would like to thank Asia Rugby, which is based in Hong Kong for agreeing to have the tournament here in Johor’s EduCity and also our thanks to the Youth and Sports Ministry and our own Johor Sports Council which are also promoters of this event,” he added.

The Johor 7’s @Iskandar Puteri Championship will also be played on the same weekend with 20 teams competing in the tournament.

Eight teams from Malaysia and Singapore in the inaugural women’s category, will compete for the Iskandar Investment Berhad Cup while 12 men’s teams will compete for the Johor 7’s Cup.

Of the 12 teams in the men’s category for the Johor 7’s Cup, five are from Johor, two from Selangor and a single team each from Melaka, Terengganu, Kuala Lumpur, Perak and from the Police Force (PDRM).

For the inaugural women’s category, Johor will field two teams, Perak three, and one team each from Selangor, Singapore and Sabah for the Iskandar Investment Berhad Cup.

Sponsors and contributors include Iskandar Investment Berhad, Sports Johor Sdn Bhd., Hotel Amansari Nusajaya is the official hotel, KPJ Healthcare (M) Bhd for medical support and Rugger District for the teams’ sportswear.